cybermog

Final Hope: How to fix Weak or No signal on your iPhone 3G

In Apple device on 29/04/2010 at 5:32 AM

Story:

My friend asked me to take a look at his faulty iPhone after he decided to change its cracked LCD screen by another one in eBay. The iPhone appears to function normally EXCEPT it rarely gets any signal. My friend tried any possible ways he could: restore, reset setting, jailbroken/unlock or even reconnect all the cables/connectors but nothing ! The phone sometimes can get 2 or 3 bars then immediately switch to “No service”. It is basically an iPod Touch with Wifi :-) so we made a bet: If i can fix the problem, his sweet Honda CBR250RR will be mine for 2 weeks !

Warning:

I do this for fun so please consider my repair tips as entertainment only. Please follow your Apple repair guide to have your iPhone fixed. With others who are willing to ruin your iPhone, this is your chance :-)

What i did:

Based on all the scratches and bends on the iPhone’s surface, i must say that it had been brutally opened by my friend :-( In the next 2 days, i ended up doing exactly as he did: Restore setting/network/phone but no luck at all. I even carefully dissemble the iPhone completely and reassemble again with the hope of  getting it right but no luck. I know that sometimes it can get a signal so it must be something wrong with the signal receiver hardware ! Keep that in mind, i tried my last search in google and found this thread in Modmyi.com. Spinningjc member pointed out the “copper tooth” in main-board which my friend damage ! Here is the image:

Click the image to open in full size.

And yet despite i tried to solder another copper piece into the missing position (i never solder before:(, the phone still displayed the damn thing “No signal” . Ok so now i know that something definitely missing from the main board due to my friend over-kill force. Continue digging in that Modmyi.com thread, i found a link to mauron.net and find impressive “how to” from this bloke. Realizing that i had the same situation as his iPhone, i gave it my last shot and Sweet Zombie Jesus ! The phone gave me full 5 bars signal ! I immediately used the phone to call my friend to arrange for motorbike pick up. Up to now, his phone has worked flawlessly and i also enjoy his Honda :-). Below is the picture of what you need to solder (Remember to scratch the track to expose a copper color line):


Summary:

  • Please check to make sure if you do damage this main board area (Particularly when replace LCD screen)
  • The “copper tooth” does NOT contribute to signal receiver
  • Try to buy a small tip solder to make the work easier
  • All credits and pictures go to Modmyi.com, Mauron.net and especially the guy who found the solution for my friend problem. And if you can resurrect your iPhone using this guide, please leave comment so other people will be benefit :-)
  • Long live Google :-)

Update:

  • Seems the solder joint has been activated Wifi the whole time. Even when i tried to turn it off, the device can still connect to the internet
  • (Sorry folks, it did because i still connected to 3G)
  • The device works flawlessly now :-)
  1. [...] i want to confirm that the solder joint i did to my friend’s phone has nothing to do with this downgrade. (My skill at solder is terrible so i am not willingly [...]

  2. dude you are absolutely right, my iphone is back with 5 bars! thanks thanks thanks!

  3. Thanks for the information. My wife had a 3gs phone that was dropped and after following the suction cup disassemble process on you tube, I found that the antenna connector had just popped off. I reseated it and the phone worked great. I think it was the connector labeled “7”. Hope this helps.

  4. I cant believe it worked, I had iphone 3g broken screen, fixed screen, then realised the battery was ruined so replaced battery, whilst replacing battery the dock cable broke so bought whole new housing for the back installed the new battery and the screen, Realised signal was poor to none. Thought was a good idea to re-jailbreak and unlock. so did but still with no luck, came across this post and a few others about wiring a bridge, I have noticed there was a crack in the board by the antenna so thought this was the best way forward…

    And it worked very simple!! After lots of reading and researching and dismantling phone time and time again :)

  5. Thank you very much for this invaluable information. Three months ago i tore down my mobile afer reassembled it there was no network signal and no one even in khartoum fix this problem. After i found the information in final hope and applied it my iphone is as new as befor with full signal so let me thank you again from the heart of Africa- Sudan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

